PDA

View Full Version : Stripped screw

MAGS own YOU
12-15-2001, 02:59 PM
Alright, this screw that is holding my foregrip on is bugging me so bad, its time to loose it. Its totaly stripped, almost to a circle. If I drill it out, will it screw my rail over? And how do i drill it? I need specific detail, becuase I want the old grip off and my new grip on. Like i said, i need specific info on it. Glueing the allen to it doesnt work, welding glue doesnt work. All ideas are helpful.

Puddleglum
12-15-2001, 03:13 PM
Take a very VERY thin hack-saw blade. Cut a slit through the screw and remove with a screwdriver. From now on you will never have to worry about stripping the head hole.

X-Plosive
12-15-2001, 04:45 PM
I'm no expert. I know there are several people on here that can help you. Try doing a search, I know this has been answered many times. The problem is that the Vertical Adapter screw is countersunk into the rail so if you try to cut a slit into the screw you will almost always damage the rail. I've done it with a dremel before. I found the smallest grinding disk and grinded a slit into it but even then I nicked the rail a bit. I do know they make specific drill bits that will be able to help you.

Cha0tic
12-15-2001, 05:11 PM
have you ever seen the gator grip on tv? it can unscrew any type of screw, even stripped screws. you might want to look for one at sears or home depot.

MAGS own YOU
12-15-2001, 06:21 PM
There isnt any part that I could use a gator grip on.

Tunaman
12-15-2001, 07:34 PM
You are gonna have to drill it out. Use a 1/4" dill bit first. Only drill as far as you need to go through the rail. Then drill the head off(or almost off) with a drill bit the same size as the head of the screw. Don't worry about hitting the rail as it won't hurt much. Once you have the head drilled almost off, you should be able to snap the foregrip off. Then you can use a vise grip to remove the screw frome the foregrip or vert adapter.

TheBigRaguPB4L