PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy a new mask, please help

mstrdbz
03-27-2006, 12:03 PM
About a year ago I started playing at a new field that is located in a cave. And until recently my current mask, a Proto Switch, seemed to be able to handle the higher himidity levels pretty well, until recently. They fog over after the thermal lens has separated. So now I am looking for a mask the can take high humidity and not leave me replacing the lens every other week. Any recommendations would be appreciated. Thanks! :)

MoeMag
03-27-2006, 12:44 PM
I have the proto switch El (does yours have the cheesy chin strap?), and it does the same thing. I think their problem is that they are not vented enough and there is not a good seal all the way around the eyes. Mine fogs up in Arizona where it is rarely more than 4% humidity. I have a hard time breathing wearing mine in a fast situation, and they seem to fog up from my exhaled air. I just think it is a poor design.

I have played with v-force profilers and really like them. Doesn’t seem like I can remember them ever giving me any trouble. The only thing is I haven’t convinced myself to go buy one of my own yet. :rolleyes:

ThePixelGuru
03-27-2006, 12:47 PM
Cave paintball? You can't say that and not link some pictures, man.

mstrdbz
03-27-2006, 12:59 PM
Sorry, here's a link to their webpage. They have added some pics of their outdoor fields as well. http://www.underground-paintball.com/?page=pictures&type=field

MoeMag: I have the original(?) mask, got it right after they were released. The fan seems to help with the breathing fog, but yea, it's not the greatest design.

FSU_Paintball
03-27-2006, 01:01 PM
Profiler or Vents mask... those are the best at not fogging.

Baby Huey
03-27-2006, 01:06 PM