PDA

View Full Version : How do I get to the carrier for a leak problem?

Ards
03-29-2006, 04:26 PM
I just got a used X valve which as a ULT kit and a ULE body and i'm having a hell of a time with a slight leak down the barrel. I've searched the forum and probably read every post on it 3 times, and what I gather is that I need to mess with carrier and it's o-ring.

My question is- I am pretty new to mag maint, I had a classic for years and never had a problem with it - I need to know how to get the carrier out! I pop open the power tube and get the shims out but the carrier doesn't seem to want to come out no matter what I do, is there some trick? Does the power tube open from the other end somehow?

Also, I find that in addition to the leak sometimes the trigger will go dead, as in it might not be resetting.

It's not the on/off as when I hold the trigger down the leak goes away.

I have 1 shim in right now. Thanks for any future help.

marpat
03-29-2006, 04:40 PM
take the field strip screw and put it gently through the carrier hole to catch the oring and then pull it out.

I've had the resetting of the on/off too and what i did was replace the bolt spring with a stronger spring that may help with the trigger problem

rb211
03-29-2006, 09:15 PM
You might want to leave the shim out and try it that way. I just went through this with mine. It may very well not be the carrier. If it's not resetting, that would indicate bolt stick. If it doesn't leak without the shim and still doesn't reset, go up a carrier size (or as far up as you need to without getting the leak) and go from there.

Here's a link to my thread. http://www.automags.org/forums/showthread.php?t=194113

da bear
03-31-2006, 03:16 AM
I had the same problem a couple days ago (as far as getting the carrier out).