PDA

View Full Version : For those who have played Rugby.

Maggot6
04-20-2006, 06:51 PM
First, a little physical information about myself.

Height - 5'9"
weight - 125 lbs
Aka...I might as well be anorexic :ninja:

Either way, I am in grade 10 and this is my first year of Rugby. Sense I am pretty skinny, I was skeptical at first, asuming I would die. But now after a month or so of practise, we finally had our first tournament...It is such an extreme rush, nothing else (not even paintball) compares to tackling people with full adrenaline. Anyone else on this board play much Rugby? Any tips for the skinny kid? Any horror stories?

tropical_fishy
04-20-2006, 07:10 PM
I just started rugby. I'm 5'2" and... small. The first time I was in a scrum, I looked at the girl across from me who was probably 5'7" or 5'8" and thought I was gonna die. But then again, the "girls" that play rugby aren't really "girls" at all (in fact, I met one named Dan). I've been limping around for a week because I got cleated in the ankle, and I got my throat stepped on last Saturday, but other than that, I've been relatively injury-free. One of my teammates has a concussion, three are on crutches with broken ankles, and one tore her ACL in the first game. Fabulous sport. What position do you play? I imagine you're a back. Just try not to die.

Indignant
04-21-2006, 01:32 AM
i always thought that would be a cool sport to play. i'm not small for my age, but i'm not huge, either. i don't think my school has it though. i'm gonna have to google for local clubs.

SpecialBlend2786
04-21-2006, 05:00 AM
I used to play rugby with friends from middleschool till highschool.

Also, my dad and I watch rugby pretty religiously, mainly the All Blacks and New Zealand/Australia club teams.

As far as tips, the biggest one I can give you is this: