PDA

View Full Version : What should I know about local tourney ball

kingpen509
05-02-2006, 12:33 AM
Well I've been playing paintball for just about a year so I would say I'm fairly new at it and most of the "ballin" I've done has been woods or basically rec-ballin. I have played a few times at my local field which tends to concentrate mainly on speedball. I feel like I can hold my own on the speedball field but have yet to become comfortable enough to really understand speedball strategy.
Anywho,...... Me and a couple friends of mine want to play in an upcoming mechanical only airball tourney (basically just for fun but winning a few games would be funner)and I thought I would ask the population of AO for some heads up advice and or pointers for how to aproach my first tourney.

Feel free to keep it as long or short as you like I will read all posts so anything helps just keep it friendly and mature. ( I already stated I would consider myself a new player so we've got that out of the way and I am 26 so keep the "this kid" statements to a minimum :D )

Thanks,

tyrion2323
05-02-2006, 01:24 AM
In the local scene:

Use your head. Most likely, you'll be smarter than quite a few teams there. Make sure to zone out your fields correctly, and know what to do in a clutch position (i.e. - your plan doesn't go as planned!)

If you have a zoned out field, then all there is to do is to play the game.

Make sure your gear works before you get there, and make sure to test it and chrono it once you get there as well. Have batteries, o-rings and lube ready in case of gun failure.

Make sure you know how to communicate with your teammates. Make sure they know what to expect from you.

I'm tired.
goin' to bed.

jenarelJAM
05-02-2006, 01:30 AM
Uh... hm....
I've never played tourney ball, but I have done 2 on 2's and 1 on 1's with players from teams, and the two things that usually bring me my results are: