PDA

View Full Version : Headphones

FooTemps
07-07-2006, 09:27 PM
Alright, there's gotta be some audiophiles on AO...

I'm looking to purchase some nice open circumaural cans and have a budget of 150-200. Of course I'll be powering it off a portable amp (since I want to take my music with me).

Suggestions?

I'm thinking the Sennheiser HD595, Audio-Technica ATH AD-900, or Beyerdynamic DT880.

Also, what are some good places to buy from for good prices?

Steelrat
07-07-2006, 09:32 PM
I have some 580s, and they sound superb. They are also extremely comfortable. I have listened to, but not owned, some beyerdynamic, and they sounded fine, though not as smooth. I have no experience with Audio-Technica.

Can't go wrong with Sennheiser.

EDIT: I love shopping on audiogon.com. Nothing like paying half price for lightly used equipment. My main speakers, center channel, and my entire downstairs speaker system all came from audiogon. I saw a couple of HD600s that were new go for the low 200s. Audio advisor also carries Sennheiser http://www.audioadvisor.com/store/mfglisting.asp?hdnMfg=Sennheiser&MFGID=111

FooTemps
07-07-2006, 09:44 PM
I hear that the Sennheiser HD5xx series aren't as bassy as other headphones. I tend to listen to hip hop and jazz and funkstyles. How does your HD580 hold up to that style of music?

Steelrat
07-07-2006, 09:59 PM
Just fine. I consider their bass to be accurate. A lot of 'can manufacturers, like speaker manufacturers, will add a subtle rise in the low end frequency response to give the impression that the speakers produce better base, but it's all artificial. Most music, especially the popular releases, contain very little low bass information. Keep in mind that 90% or more of recordings are intended for mass consumption, and so the recording engineers set them up to play on cheap, mass-market equipment. That means pumped up mid bass and low, or no, real bass, as cheap systems just can't handle that.