PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from an old forum member...

Vegeta_AO
08-12-2006, 12:59 AM
Hello AO, good to see you all. My name is Mike Eckert, and I used to be a very active member on this board many years ago, before the days of AGD ownership even. My handle on the board was "Vegeta", but I could not log in using that name so I made a new account to say hello.

I haven't been around in a long time, and so I do not even know if there are people around that remember me. I sure hope so, though. The boards used to be a bluish color, then went to the gray for a long time after the folks at AGD started to hang around, but now the look has changed again as it seems.

I used to be a automag newb on here, until I bought my first 68 mag. I couldn't tell you how long ago this was but I am guessing about 6 years or so.. maybe I am off. I can remember chatting on the IRC chat, and talking with online friends. Names I can remember are CPhilip, Army, Sara, SHartley, RobAGD, Miscue, and I'm sure I would recognize many many others if I saw the names.

I remember now how great of a board this was and how nice the people were, also in the chat. I remember I had a very slow computer (it was something like 300mhz) and the times were changing so I needed some new hardware but had no money for it. A forum moderator named Miscue was so kind that he boxed up a pretty much new condition Gigabyte motherboard (a very very nice one) and an AMD athlon 2000+ and shipped it to me from Nevada to Missouri, for free. I offered to at least give him something but he refused. I went on to use the computer made from those parts to do so much.

I also remember Tunaman, who I helped start up his website. A great guy who sent me several tidbit parts for me to toy with.