PDA

View Full Version : pump mag shooting semi!!!!

robbieisurfriend
08-12-2006, 01:58 PM
i just got my hands on a pump mag and i am having problems with it sometimes shooting semi auto. I tried stretching the wave spring ever so slightly and it doesnt seem to help. It is strange because sometimes it works just like it should and other times it will shoot semi auto for quite a while. Sometimes it will wait a few seconds to cock itself and other times it is truly semi auto. I am wondering if i need shims or a new wave spring or if something just needs adjusted. I havent chronoed it so it could be shooting hot which i guess would cause the bolt to blow forward harder and the spring to push it back harder. Im not sure what to do, this is my first mag and i am still learning about it.

robbieisurfriend
08-13-2006, 11:17 AM
hmm, nobody has an idea.

K Wolf
08-13-2006, 12:09 PM
You have a good idea about chronoing your marker. It would be a good idea even if you were not having a problem. Wave springs do eventually fatigue and fail (especially if the marker is stored in the cocked position). You may need to replace the wave spring. Stretching a worn out spring is a temporary fix at best. If all else is good, and you still have the problem, look for excessive wear between the bolt and sear (not really likely, unless someone gave the mag a "trigger job").

Good luck,
Karl

Walrus
08-13-2006, 02:11 PM
well, first off I could have sold you a better working pump mag ;)

Secondly, the bumper that works in conjunction with the wave spring is no different in thickness than the stock blue bumper on classic valves. Generally, people willl just cut down the blue bumper to fit inside of the wave spring and that will take care of that.