PDA

View Full Version : dwell and electronic mags

eNder159
08-21-2006, 10:04 AM
so i have a devilmag and well im still new to the electronic game but i was wondering what's a good dwell time for electronic mags? I heard too low of a dwell time can damage the bolt and chip or wear the sear out prematurely. What do x/e-mags have as dwell times? currently i have mine set at 8ms and it seems like its shooting all my shots when i put it in fast ramping mode.. What are some good dwell times out there?

BigEvil
08-21-2006, 10:12 AM
so i have a devilmag and well im still new to the electronic game but i was wondering what's a good dwell time for electronic mags? I heard too low of a dwell time can damage the bolt and chip or wear the sear out prematurely. What do x/e-mags have as dwell times? currently i have mine set at 8ms and it seems like its shooting all my shots when i put it in fast ramping mode.. What are some good dwell times out there?

Depends on what type of electro mag you are talking about;

A regular production Emag or Xmag the dwell is somewhere between 15ms and 30ms depending on how you like to shoot and what software.

A devilmag, Spydermag, or Hyperframe with the pancake noid that directly trips the sear IIRC is between 5ms-12ms.

In my electro-pnuematic eframe, there is a solenoid which activates a ram which trips the sear.. I have shot it at 3ms, but find that 5-10 is better. (ULT)

Of course, how much force is needed to move the sear directly affects dwell... If more force is needed, the noid might have to be 'on' longer to work reliably.

If you do notice the bolt edge chipping (not wearing, wear is normal, it will probably wear much faster if its an electro), then raise the dwell.

eNder159
08-21-2006, 10:16 AM
Depends on what type of electro mag you are talking about;

A regular production Emag or Xmag the dwell is somewhere between 15ms and 30ms depending on how you like to shoot and what software.