PDA

View Full Version : Dual monitor set up.

MoeMag
11-09-2006, 03:53 PM
Dual monitor set up.

Hey this is a real quick post, before I head off to school…
My laptop has a VGA output on the back and allows for another screen to be used as an extended desktop. What is needed to get that done with my pc?
Video card of some sort I assume, but the fellas at frys electronics and compusa are clueless… as am I.
Educate me AO!

geekwarrior
11-09-2006, 04:04 PM
cheap video card (maybe 20-30). Alot of newer cards have this feature built in, and has cool features, but I think in the beginning I just bought a cheap secind graphics card. I have been running 2 mon for over 4 yrs now, and can't stand working on anything any other way. Awsome for anyone who does any type of design on a comp.

WaffleBaron
11-09-2006, 04:23 PM
All you should need(assuming your card has 2 video out) is a cable to connect to a different monitor and the correct drivers, assuming your card can handle dual display well enough at a good res. You might also need a converter if you aren't using DVI and need both or one to be VGA(depending on the card).

-=squid#2=-
11-09-2006, 04:45 PM
Basically, to do this, you just need two monitors and a soldering iron.

Cut the wires in half, and solder everything into a 'Y' configuration. Plug it in, and it should work fine.

tribalman
11-09-2006, 05:00 PM