PDA

View Full Version : New kind of bolt?

bigguy
01-11-2007, 12:05 PM
ok, i'm really new to mags...i have had my very first mag for a matter of weeks. i have onwend in the past: tippmann 98 custom and an ion.

here's my question...if all electic guns now-a-days are using plastic or whatever matereil bolts, why not mags.

ions have a plastic one, shockers, egos, all dms...everything does...whey dont they make one for a mag.

dont' chew me out, remember i know next to nothing about mags yet.

*i know that they make the level 10...i have one...but why not something else?!

craltal
01-11-2007, 12:11 PM
ok, i'm really new to mags...i have had my very first mag for a matter of weeks. i have onwend in the past: tippmann 98 custom and an ion.

here's my question...if all electic guns now-a-days are using plastic or whatever matereil bolts, why not mags.

ions have a plastic one, shockers, egos, all dms...everything does...whey dont they make one for a mag.

due to the pressures and stress a mag bolt is subjected to during the regular firing cycle a plastic bolt wouldn't last very long, if at all

grEnAlEins
01-11-2007, 12:14 PM
Shockers use aluminum bolts stock. The plastic are after-market and I have not heard that they improve anything other than kick.

There is just too much pressure on the mag bolt, even for aluminum let alone a plastic. Remember, it is a high pressure gun. The LVLX bolts are light enough anyways, and they are anti chop as well. I would go that route. The superbolts had a plastic sleeve and gave more trouble than they were worth. It have been attempted before.

cyrus-the-virus
01-11-2007, 12:19 PM
It's been tried before.

The super bolt didn't last long.

The current bolts work fine anyhow.

paint magnet
01-11-2007, 12:22 PM