PDA

View Full Version : Anyone do martial arts?

iambored
01-12-2007, 08:48 PM
As a fellow martial artist, I was wondering if anyone did any martial arts? I resently researched martial aarts to learn about them and their history and was shocked by how many martial arts existed.

Triangle
01-12-2007, 08:52 PM
I was super heavy into aikido for the longest time, and studied MMA's since I was 7 or 8 years old. We got to learn many different styles and varients of said styles. It was a lot of fun, albeit painful at times.

iambored
01-12-2007, 09:02 PM
I was super heavy into aikido for the longest time, and studied MMA's since I was 7 or 8 years old. We got to learn many different styles and varients of said styles. It was a lot of fun, albeit painful at times.
I know how it feels, my 1st Dan (black belt) test was ran by the highest ranking Shorin-ryu instructer in America and went from 5:30 am to 12:00 pm the next day. In that time I ran 5 miles, did 750+ push-ups, 1600 kicks, and 2 on 1 sparring with no resting. That hurt the next day.

Triangle
01-12-2007, 09:05 PM
I know how it feels, my 1st Dan (black belt) test was ran by the highest ranking Shorin-ryu instructer in America and went from 5:30 am to 12:00 pm the next day. In that time I ran 5 miles, did 750+ push-ups, 1600 kicks, and 2 on 1 sparring with no resting. That hurt the next day.

It was worth it, though. No one will ever be able tot ake that from you.
Our 'studio' enviornment was more or less learning through pain. When you mess up, it hurts, and you learn real' quick not to screw up.

I learned through conditioning so It's hard for me to compare learning learning the way I did/do, to one of those Shopping Center Black Belt Academies. NOt to say that's where you learned, just tossing in my two cents.

What dan are you currently at?