PDA

View Full Version : Premium paint in high pressure markers.

Brad Quillen
05-06-2007, 04:59 PM
I'm basically new to paintball... although I'm a 5 year veteran, that was a decade ago, so I'm a rookie all over again. At any rate, I must have a poor understanding of what's going on in the guts of a paintball gun. I just want to know if it's true that one can't shoot high-end paint (ie. Allstars or whatever) in a Mag due to excessive paint breakage. Do lower pressure guns use a larger volume of gas to propel the ball or something? Does a high-pressure gun's bolt travel faster?

At any rate, I was going to try some Marbs yesterday, but I was a little scared to get them due to worries over my Mag being to hard on them. I chose Draxxus Blaze which did pretty good.

cyrus-the-virus
05-06-2007, 05:08 PM
I'm basically new to paintball... although I'm a 5 year veteran, that was a decade ago, so I'm a rookie all over again. At any rate, I must have a poor understanding of what's going on in the guts of a paintball gun. I just want to know if it's true that one can't shoot high-end paint (ie. Allstars or whatever) in a Mag due to excessive paint breakage. Do lower pressure guns use a larger volume of gas to propel the ball or something? Does a high-pressure gun's bolt travel faster?

At any rate, I was going to try some Marbs yesterday, but I was a little scared to get them due to worries over my Mag being to hard on them. I chose Draxxus Blaze which did pretty good.

you can use anykind of paint out of an automag.

SummaryJudgement
05-06-2007, 05:10 PM
It comes down to bolt impact on the paintball. Concerns with tournament-grade paint come because it is more brittle. More force on it can cause it to break in the marker easier. And higher cycling rates of new electros can lead to chopping easier if the loader doesn;t keep up or the ball doesn't feed properly.