PDA

View Full Version : AirAmerica Apocolypse2K - Cautions?

Jasper21
05-16-2007, 10:12 PM
nOOb here first post. I've played paintball on occasion, never had my own marker but I found a deal on an Automag RT. Anyway I have a question on the tank.

It is an Air America Apocolypse 2K (88/4500 - discontinued). The in-side pressure gage reads 700psi, the out-side gage reads zero. When I turn the "on" switch the pressure out side still reads zero.

I have tried to find info on the regulator design on line with no luck. Does anybody know a safe way to bleed off any tank side pressure? I have a feeling that the tank is empty and the gage is bad, but I don't want to do something stupid.

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c209/Jasper21/Regulator_in.jpg

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c209/Jasper21/regulator_out.jpg

Tao
05-17-2007, 02:40 AM
The best way to check is to get it filled. Put a squirt (for lack of a better term) of air into it and see if the guage goes up. if it doesn't after a second of filling the guage is screwed. Wether it works or not see if any air comes out the ouput line. Otherwise I would take it to a professional to look at, such as a rehydroing place. Just be CHRYSTAL CLEAR that you believe it is pressurized still.

The only way I can think of to depressurize it in the worst case scenario is to take the fill nipple off which can be extremely dangerous since it will shoot off like a bullet and either ricochet around or go through a window a block away.

Spider-TW
05-17-2007, 05:59 AM
I think you're matching your gauges to the port on the same side as the gauge. That is not the case.

Your High pressure gauge (range of 5000 psi) is closer to your bottle, and the low pressure gauge (range of 1200 psi) is the one further out from the bottle. On your [reg], they happen to be on opposite sides of the port they are associated with, instead of next to it.