PDA

View Full Version : ugh, minimag chuffs, then doesn't do anything

mudpie
06-08-2007, 02:38 AM
Well I'm a mechanical engineer and love the design of my new micromag. :clap:

I can't get the darn thing to work though, for more than a couple dozen shots.
Minimag valve, 4 stars, lightly used.
CO2 via remote line, no expansion chamber but I'm keeping it vertical (will go HPA once my the used tank I bought is hydrotested).
Level 10...recalibrated it based on what I've read here and badmovies' advice...did go from 0 to 1.5 to reduce friction with no leakage down the barrel. That didn't fix the problem which is:
Fires okay for 10-30 not very rapid dry shots, then it starts chuffing sometimes, then every time, then it doesn't fire at all or lets out a wimpy chuff.

Other people have had the chuff problem, but not usually the doesn't-fire-at-all problem. In a few hours, I try again and it works...for a while, then chuffs...and then stops working again.

It is pretty evenly oiled, and I've tried the red/medium spring too (came with the long spring), and all the seals look good. This gun has barely been used.

I would suspect CO2 stability issues, except I am running remote, and not firing more than a couple bps dry. Is the regulator so sensitive to input pressure?? Some people say it MUST get at least 850 psi, and I doubt CO2 tanks supply that. But come on, I'm not even rapid firing...wouldn't the pressure restore in a few seconds max?

Sorry for the novel. ANY help is appreciated.

TwilightG
06-08-2007, 04:46 AM
I can definitely sympathize with you...

I've had an almost identical problem w/ a MiniMag I bought over eBay.
It turned out that a majority of my problem was a badly tuned level 10.

The reason why it may stop firing altogether is because the bolt might be sticking. Just place a pen in the breach and see if you can reset it by lightly pushing on the front of the bolt.