PDA

View Full Version : Sniper/ military guns really make a difference.

nathanjones008
07-27-2007, 06:58 AM
I have been playing for over five years now. When i first started playing i saw all these guns made for sniping. I saw phantoms( which i think are still around) Even autocockers that are pump/ sniping. Now i see spyders and many other brands with all these sniping upgrades, like stocks, e dots, 20 inch barrels and so forth. At my local proshop they makes tons off sniping anf military looking guns (tippmans primarly). My question is This all hype? These guns ( sniper/ military guns) claim to the the most accurate. :clap: Is this a noob trap?

thanks.

seriously i see some of my friends spend so much money on upgrading these types of guns. Are they wasting their money? :shooting:

Pacifist_Farmer
07-27-2007, 07:48 AM
My question is This all hype?

yes

These guns ( sniper/ military guns) claim to the the most accurate. :clap: Is this a noob trap?

yes, also refered to as good marketing

Are they wasting their money?

They are wasting money if they believe the hype. If their goal is to have a milsim marker, then no. Some people very much enjoy milsim, but if they think the ball leaving the end of their barrel has different properties than the one leaving any other barrel, they need a reality check.

nathanjones008
07-27-2007, 07:50 AM
Yes, my understanding is , ANY gun that has a good reg and a good paint/barrel match then the outcome will be the same. :headbang:

Lohman446
07-27-2007, 08:03 AM
All hype? No.

As others have stated, in a vise, any marker with comparable velocity and consistancy at the end of a decent undamaged barrel will shoot with the same distance / accuracy / consistancy as any other.

However... consider the following

A longer barrel: A longer barrel will not give you better range / accuracy. However it will give you a longer sighting platform.