PDA

View Full Version : Playing Paintball with Diabetes Question

pyrodragon
11-01-2007, 04:00 PM
i have been playing this sport with Type One Diabetes. i take shots so no worries. i went in today for my yearly check up. well today the doctor was talking about putting me on a pump. My question is how many of you play with diabetes and second how many play with an insulin pump? i would really like some feedback on the guys that play with insulin pumps. thanks "P"

Chaos_Theory!
11-01-2007, 04:46 PM
Id say that would lead to problems if you play aggressive. It may be alright for some woodsball or if you play back in speedball.

Ruler_Mark
11-01-2007, 05:19 PM
I'm no expert but i think you would mst definatly need to protect the pump unit and where the pipe enters your body

GraveDiggersUnion
11-01-2007, 07:04 PM
ask your doctor about it would be your best bet...

jaywmustang
11-01-2007, 07:26 PM
I would ask your doctor first. A buddy of mine, wife plays with us and she has a pump. She has never had a problem playing woodsball, she keep the pump in the front of her shirt. I cant see any of the hoses and i didnt know she had a pump till she pulled it out. Ask your doctor and make sure nothing is hanging out when u play.

pyrodragon
11-01-2007, 07:52 PM
Id say that would lead to problems if you play aggressive. It may be alright for some woodsball or if you play back in speedball.

see i do play aggressive when i need too. i don't like things wearing me down. the pump option has been brought up in the past but at the time i still felt like i was still too rough on myself to have one. i brought this up with my doctor today, and he says i might be able to disconnect the pump while i'm playing. i have to go see an endo doctor within the next month and i really want to be ready for that with the right questions. thanks guy, trust me i have never let my diabetes slow me down on the field so i doubt i will let this next step slow me down either.

Chaos_Theory!