PDA

View Full Version : Need help picking out a camera...

hobbes
01-15-2002, 12:51 AM
Im ina bit of a tough decision. I want to egt very into photograghy, but I dont know if I wanna do digital or 35 millimeter. I love the resolution on the 35, and Ill be using it to mainly take action shots of skatebaording. So know any good mid priced 35 MM cameras, slr's, with a good lens, and how much will it cost? Thanks so much.
-Nick

edweird
01-15-2002, 01:00 AM
My mothers rig is 100% Pentax. It whipes the floor with any other camera I have ever shot in quality and maintenance. Sure Im no pro but mark my word Pentax is the bombgiggity. And as I remember it was not to expencive. about 6 hundred for the base camera and 3 lenses. But that was years ago...

mrhooie
01-15-2002, 09:36 AM
I've used a Canon for about 15 years.. I've owned 4- 35mm SLRs and have loved everyone.

Even though I know have an EOS, I still find I use my TLb for winter outdoor shots.

You'll also find it's easy to own 3 or 4 different lenses for different circumstances. If you're going to do skateboarding and bmx photos, you'll want to buy a fisheye lense.

Never used Pentax, but I think the question in SLRs is how much are accessories as they all pretty much perform the same...

As for digital - you may find that they don't take action shots well. The ones I have played with have a delay before the actual shot is taken (from the time that you press the shutter button)

synreal
01-15-2002, 09:56 AM
i would suggest that if you are interested in the art of photography that you invest first in a decent 35mm rig.

currently digital cameras cannot match the quality of film (and wont for a while). don't get me wrong, i love digital cameras, but if you are just starting to learn i would try to get a very basic 35mm setup that has as many manual features as possible (get a built in light meter though).