PDA

View Full Version : Gas problem (oops)

vmaxnick
01-18-2008, 04:17 PM
This is probably a very stupid thread, but I need information before I blow myself up!
I've already tried once and got away with it and don't want to chance it again!
I am a paintball noob, have just bought markers, filling station and 20oz CA cylinders.
As I understand it, these cylinders must be filled by liquid delivery to the specified weight.
Here comes my dillema: I am a welder by trade and have access to lots of Argonshield light, which is co2 argon mix. I have successfully charged my CA cylinders with pure liquid CO2 from a spare CO2 Fire extinguisher (Siphon tube installed). When I recharge the extinguisher Cylinder from my bulk argonshield tank (gas delivery, no siphon tube) I no longer get a good charge in the CA cylinder. I believe the CA cylinder is now filling with gas rather than liquid and I am unable to reach the target weight before the pressure equalizes. (Now my head hurts!)
So, is the problem that the Argon mix gas will not liquefy in the way that pure CO2 does, or is it because I am filling my siphon tank from a non siphon tank? If this is the problem, can I invert the bulk tank to deliver liquid charge?
I know the simple answer is to rent a liquid delivery CO2 tank but that will cost me a hell of a lot more than my welding gas!
I have to de-cant from my welding bottles to the Fire extinguisher as the welding cylinders do not have siphon tubes fitted and obviously when they are exchanged for full bottles, you don't get the same bottle back (so can't fit a siphon tube to these!)
Sorry this is such a novel but I know there are some really clever peeps on this forum that will have the answer to hand!

IDriveBug
01-18-2008, 04:36 PM