PDA

View Full Version : Is paintball dead?

Corbet
03-07-2008, 08:48 PM
I've been playing paintball for 8+ years now and it seems like the industry has really slowed to a crawl. AGD hasn't released anything in years and every company I remember being popular has gone out of business. Hell, I remember when the Halo hopper was incredibly popular and THE hopper to get but nowadays I don't even know what is worth buying.

Hell, every paintball field in my area has closed down. One was doing very good business and randomly closed on one summer day and never opened again. Another closed down due to some safety violations (??) and I don't think they ever reopened.

Why? There's the obvious "smart parts" factor, but I figured it would rebound by now. I come back to these forums every few months and it seems like everyone is disapeering.

punkncat
03-07-2008, 09:31 PM
Well, there are lots of reasons for paintballs slowdown. A lot of it has to do with the economy. The shutdown of paintballs grassroots companies is due in part to both the economy and the litigation.
Players leave the sport for many reasons. What became prevelent in open play after the electro became dominant and the "arms race" has a lot to do with it in my opinion. Just not a whole lot of fun for a new player in the average game these days.
With lots of other fast hoppers on the market it is no question as to why an aged hopper design is not the most common anymore....

Relax, paintball may be returning to a more normal state, but it isn't going anywhere.

Ninjeff
03-07-2008, 09:33 PM
yea, paintball is here to stay. It'll have some flux, but its certainly not dead.

2BAD4U
03-07-2008, 10:55 PM
when do you think paintball will hit the olympics ??????

Toll
03-07-2008, 10:57 PM
Never. It's a game. Not a sport. Internally people can't even decide on their own rules let alone a unified system.

drg
03-08-2008, 01:56 AM