PDA

View Full Version : Comparison between RT Pro Vs. RT - ULE

pk5
03-10-2008, 09:30 PM
Hi everyone

I am really new to the mag world, so just a few question.

What is the different between the rt-pro and the rt-ule? Is it worth the price difference?

thanks

Indignant
03-10-2008, 10:58 PM
an RT-ULE is an RT Pro with a ULE body. it'll be lighter, newer, and i believe it'll have an x-valve which an RT-Pro won't necessarily always have.

questionful
03-10-2008, 11:52 PM
Forget about the mags on agd's website. Mag naming is confusing at first. Here's what you need to know:

There are two basic categories of automags. Those with "classic" valves, and those with "RT" valves. Within those categories are several versions. Some are identical with a different name, some have small differences, a few have big differences

I think this is a fairly accurate/complete list:

Classic
A.I.R
68 Automag Classic
Minimag
Sydarm (oddball)

RT
Classic RT (oddball) forget about this version for now
ReTro
RT Pro
E-mag
E-Max
X-mag
X-valve

All classic valves use the same mechanism.
Classic Animation from ZDSPB (http://www.zdspb.com/media/tech/animations/automag1.gif)

All RT valves use the same mechanism.
E-mag Animation from ZDSPB (http://www.zdspb.com/media/tech/animations/rtemag2_6fps.gif)
Pneumag Animation from ZDSPB (http://www.zdspb.com/media/tech/animations/pneumag_5fps.gif)
Notice that the two valves in the E-mag and the pneumag are identical. They could be any version of RT valve except for a classic RT valve (it's an oddball)

Then there are different types of bodies and rails. Some take cocker threaded barrels, some take twist-lock barrels. They'll all fit any valve except sydarm and classic RT valves. There are the old stainless steel bodies, ULE bodies, Tac bodies (the only defining characteristic of a tac one), and one-piece body/rail bodies: micromag bodies (once made by PTP), Micro- Z bodies (something like that), X-mag bodies, SFL bodies. Then there are custom bodies.