PDA

View Full Version : Monitor Recommendations

spwz99
04-17-2008, 10:10 AM
Hey AO, I just "inherited" a Dell desktop from my grandpa, but it is the tower only. I have to provide monitor, keyboard, and mouse. I like Logitech, so I will probably go that route for the inputs, but I need some help with the monitor.

The last computer I bought was my laptop (4 years ago) and flat panel monitors have come a long way since then. Basically, I understand the meanings of all the specs (contrast ratio, refresh rate and the like) but I don't know what is a good benchmark for any of them.

What baseline numbers should I be looking for? Any help would be appreciated.

p.s. I am frugal, but when it comes to electronics I will only buy quality. I really want the best bang for my buck.

Thanks guys.

*edit* I will be doing some gaming, some movie watching, and I'm an engineering student, so I will also be doing some CAD type work on the machine eventually, so I need a quality screen.

tribalman
04-17-2008, 01:52 PM
Hey AO, I just "inherited" a Dell desktop from my grandpa, but it is the tower only. I have to provide monitor, keyboard, and mouse. I like Logitech, so I will probably go that route for the inputs, but I need some help with the monitor.

The last computer I bought was my laptop (4 years ago) and flat panel monitors have come a long way since then. Basically, I understand the meanings of all the specs (contrast ratio, refresh rate and the like) but I don't know what is a good benchmark for any of them.

What baseline numbers should I be looking for? Any help would be appreciated.

p.s. I am frugal, but when it comes to electronics I will only buy quality. I really want the best bang for my buck.

Thanks guys.

*edit* I will be doing some gaming, some movie watching, and I'm an engineering student, so I will also be doing some CAD type work on the machine eventually, so I need a quality screen.