PDA

View Full Version : Loctite problem – need advice

StanBo
01-21-2002, 12:45 PM
I seem to have been a little overzealous with some Loctite Red and have bound a pin in an on/off valve.

Is there a solvent out there that will remove the Loctite?

I really don’t want to can this valve.

Thanks

Paintballer86
01-21-2002, 12:47 PM
boil it in some water for like 10 min. I beleve that this works quite well. Try it and get back to us.

damageinc54
01-21-2002, 12:57 PM
I am a Machinist. I use loctite all the time. I can help you but first I just have to know what were doing putting RED loctite anywhere near your valve???? I just cannot imagine what you were trying to do :confused: You have to heat red loctite over 400 deg to turn the loctite back into a liquid. My advice is to use a torch for about 20 seconds and then grab the pin with a pliers and pull it out. You will need to buy a rebuild kit because this heat will destroy all of your o-rings in the valve and reg.

StanBo
01-21-2002, 01:22 PM
The loctite red was what was originally used when the valve was installed on the drop forward, which was installed on my marker.

The fitting started to leak so I backed it out, reapplied the same type of loctite and put it back together.

I will try the boiling water.

I might have to can this valve.

Here is the valve in question:

http://store6.yimg.com/I/kapp_1670_1685065

Mine is the one all the way to the right.

mattyfatty182
01-21-2002, 01:39 PM
I had the same problem, but instead of Loc-tight, heres what you do:

Get a small socket wrench, small enough to fit the on off Pin.

Also, find yourself a jar helper opener thingy (the rubber ones)

Put the socket on the on/off, and use the rubber opener to hold the On/Off twister.

Next time, only unscrew the On/Off to where is gets hard, not any farther.

StanBo
01-21-2002, 01:49 PM
I will try that out. I didn't think that she could just have been screwed in too tight. I hope that this will be the correct solution.

Thordic