PDA

View Full Version : a.i.r. valve pressure gauge

Mughhh
07-30-2008, 03:40 PM
I'm new to the sight, but not new to paintball. I owned a mag about 7 years ago. I bought it back from the kid I sold it to. I remembered seeing a regular at my home field that had a mag with a gauge tapped in the side of the valve; more specifically the dump chamber I assume. I was wondering if anyone had ever attempted such a mod or if anyone has any advice, I'm very mechanically inclined and have access to lathe and drill presses and such. I know that I'm going to have to cut some type of a slot down the side of the body so that the gauge follow the valve out of the body. Anyone have any measurements or anything that would be helpful. It would be very appreciated.

Spider-TW
07-30-2008, 04:30 PM
"The electrician" did some level 7 and level 10 bolt measurements of dump chamber pressure, but I have not seen a mod like that. It would probably need to be a dampened gauge (with a good snubber), since the variations in pressure would slap an undampened gauge silly.

Mughhh
07-30-2008, 10:54 PM
"The electrician" did some level 7 and level 10 bolt measurements of dump chamber pressure, but I have not seen a mod like that. It would probably need to be a dampened gauge (with a good snubber), since the variations in pressure would slap an undampened gauge silly.

Ahh, thanks for the imput. I'll try it with a regular gauge that I got in my kit, and if it works, then I'll find a dampened one. Ill try to post some pics after I'm done.

questionful
07-30-2008, 11:03 PM
This will be really cool if you do it, keep us updated!

BTW what the heck is a dampened gauge? And a snubber?

secretweaponevan
07-31-2008, 06:59 AM
This will be really cool if you do it, keep us updated!

BTW what the heck is a dampened gauge? And a snubber?

Might be liquid filled or have some sort of bumber in it to slow down the needle's travel?