PDA

View Full Version : Do barrel "inserts" work?

xero28
08-17-2008, 08:36 PM
When I say "inserts", I mean to include different size barrel backs (sly, pipes, etc) as well. I mean, if you have a 2 piece barrel, and just the back end of it is matched correctly to your paint, won't the paint get messed up while going through the second half? I've never used a kit before, seen them used, and of course peole swear by them. But is it really worth it buying a $140-$200 kit when you can just get three or four decent barrels with different bore sizes? I saw a Un1tek (I think that's what it was) kit on PBN for sale where there is a single back piece and all of the "inserts" are simply various size barrels. I guess this would be the same as buying a bunch of different bore-sized barrels? I would like to hear what you guys think, so please chime in with your opinions, experience, suggestions, etc. Thanks.

tech-chan
08-17-2008, 08:42 PM
I swear by three 14" CP one-peice barrels. One for each major bore size: .685 .689 .693

I have never gotten along with two-peices, personally, and will never use one.

And I've never gotten better accuracy.

MoeMag
08-17-2008, 08:44 PM
I think they work.

but moreover, I think good paint is the real trick.

I will stand by my dye .688 SS boomstick with quality paint any time tho.

cockerpunk
08-17-2008, 08:45 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mpUTWDY5NFE

stay tuned for the up coming barrel break test, should be out by late this week.

BigEvil
08-17-2008, 08:48 PM
I have found that a few different sizes work very well. More than 3 or 4 arent really needed IMO. I find myself using the same ones over and over again, and the small differences in bore size up or down doesnt make all that drastic a difference.

punkncat
08-17-2008, 08:57 PM
The only markers I will use "sizers" on are closed bolt in order to keep the balls from rolling out the barrel. Otherwise I just use a large bore size like a .691+

MANN
08-17-2008, 09:09 PM