PDA

View Full Version : RT vs. Retro

Billy No Mates
01-26-2002, 02:41 PM
i am relatively new to the paintball world, even more so to that of the Mag. Ive been offered n RT and a Retro at differant prices, as my first marker. Now, ive fired an RT however, only dry, im waiting for it to be fully repaired to fire it in a game.

I have absolubtly no idea what a Retro mag is, other than its a mag, with a retro valve.
(ive had much jargon thrown at me what a retro valve is, and gather its basically designed to reduce choped balls, and gas drop-off.)
that sounds kinda stupid, but is it? does the retro mag have a Response Trigger style thing?
i see the high rate of fire of the RT as its big feature, and that it is that that gives it a competative edge in a world of electro markers. However im sure big mag fans can find thousands of others.

ok, so lots of babble. In short, RT vs. Retro, what are the BIG differances, maintenace wise are they the same internally? and relatively is one more expensive than the other, be it second hand or otherwise? im sure your all gonna sey look in this or that shop for prices, and look in the gallery for pics, well thats all good, but im after personal response, and the ideas of people who play wiht the markers.

Thanks for reading, n if your not bored to death now, any help would be much appreciated. :D

Billy no mates

Dude
01-26-2002, 04:35 PM
Using an RT will be very similar to using a retro mag. The triggers will feel the same in regards to reactivity and the two valves will both produce absolutely no shoot down. The retro mag will probably be a little smaller than the RT but the RT will probably be cheaper than the retro mag because the gun came whole, instead of having to buy a gun and an upgrade. The valves of the two are almost identical except for that the RT's valve is narrower than the retro mag's. Hope this helps.

Xzion
01-26-2002, 09:27 PM