PDA

View Full Version : X-valve ULT issue

cerrik
11-03-2008, 04:20 PM
A friend of mine picked up an X-valve with ULT from EBay. And it doesn't work... Big shocker there. I am servicing it since he knows nothing about automags outside of what I tell him about them.

I'm totally new to X-valves and ULTs.

The X worked when I aired it up initally but it short stroked and chuffed on about every 3rd-4th pull. I took apart the X and checked it out and everything looked kosh. Then I started working on the ULT and reading up on here about them. So I added and shim and then from there, everything went downhill. Now, the gun doesn't even fire. With 0 shims all the way up to 6 shims.

I'm at a loss here and it's a shame to think that I'm now holding a larg hunk of useless aluminum when I know much better about Automags. Will anyone help? Please.

athomas
11-04-2008, 05:53 AM
Make sure the air source is a high enough output. Make sure the level 10 is functioning. Turn up the velocity.

Spider-TW
11-04-2008, 09:38 AM
Used x-valves are hard to guess at. First thing like athomas said, is to make sure you turn the velocity up to some sensible level (sound / feel initially if possible). Next would be to make sure the level 10 bolt doesn't feel too tight. The bolt should have the largest carrier that will hang the bolt (over something soft ;) ), skip (take out) the shims for now. Make sure the bolt spring is around 1/8" to 1/4" past the tip of the bolt.

Take the top off of the ULT and put some oil on the shaft above the micro oring in there and work the oil into the seal, so that it moves smooth. Put a little on the top oring while it's out.

The reg piston is basically the same maintenance as the classic. Take it out and clean the piston, oring and inside of the reg. relube and check that it slides evenly in the reg body.