PDA

View Full Version : to: drummers more knowledgable than i...

master_alexander
01-24-2009, 04:27 PM
or me? i has grammar. :)

anywho. I'm looking at buying a new drumest... somewhere under the 500 range, but i'd rather it be closer to 300. basically, i need something that is good quality with a fair tone, and durable.

to narrow it down a little further, i've been looking at items from this page : http://www.guitarcenter.com/Acoustic-Drum-Sets-Acoustic-Drums---Sets,Page-1.gc?o=1&ipp=15

I've played on a few pearl sets, liked them, and have heard good things about DW, but need a little more insight...

to: drummers more knowledgable than i..

LK-13
01-24-2009, 09:15 PM
be careful,
some of those really smokin' deals are shell packs,
which means no stands aka hardware
no cymbals

so tell you what,
I've been playing drums since i was 6 years old, i turn 43 in March... and boy are my arms tired... buh dump bump! :rofl:

i also have unlimited long-distance calling,

so pm me your phone number and we can set up a time and i can talk you through everything you need to know to get you started.

Wayne "LK-13" Shaw

rifleman wi
01-25-2009, 12:29 AM
i started out with basic Ludwig kit for $350 about 6 years ago. it served me well. i hear alot of good from pacific also. what i do now is go to the local music go round or whatever used gear store, or even craigslist and pick up drums for fairly cheep. last year i picked up a 98' 6 piece pearl export for $350 and it was in excellent shape.. guy had to play off the DW's he just bought :D

master_alexander
01-27-2009, 08:02 PM
LK-13 - pmed you, and i found that out the other day while looking online... that was a slight downer, but i'll work around it.

right now the only thing i'm stumped on is on how they are different. I don't have a general use, just something that i can play on and practice etc. i have heard that tama goes out of tune quick... and dw is more of something for rock sorts.

Chris Nearchos
01-28-2009, 12:47 AM