PDA

View Full Version : Just bought used mag off of Ebay...what is first thing I should do?

Newbie505
01-28-2002, 11:52 PM
I am new to paintball, and I just bought my first automag off of Ebay. After gassing it up and seeing if it fires (crossing my fingers), what is the first thing I should do? Is is hard to change all the rings and springs out of a repair kit? How do I check for leaks?

I bought a paintball gun since my son (Tippman 98c/J&J probarrel/20ozCO2) has just started playing, I figure it would be a good way for us to spend time together and I figure on the days I don't go he can use my gun.

Also, just out of curiousity, can one use a Hyperframe (E-Grip?) with a automag without having to get a retro valve? If so what do you need to do to the gun (i.e bolt, feed, exp. chamber).

Sorry for the ignorance, but I am wondering if I am in over my head?

Paintchucker
01-29-2002, 12:30 AM
Post a link to the gun on Ebay so we can see what you got. Glad to have another Magger in the Paintball World!!!

First step is to fire the puppy up with gas. Did you get Nitro or is it CO2? In Orlando, the cold effects on CO2 shouldn't be a huge problem for you and you can probably get by on an expansion chamber.

I put a hyperframe on my stock 1994 minimag. Most of the time, I didn't have a problem overshooting it when I played. I was able to outrun the valve playing in HyperMode on the range, so I upgraded to a retro valve. Biggest Advantage to me of the hyperframe was the short/light trigger pull and the knowledge that it can't be short stroked.

You might want to have your local pro shop put in a parts kit for you the first time and let you watch, or this diagram may make it easier for you. Good Luck!

http://store.airgun.com/agdprod/images/parts/ACF3DF1.jpg

Exploded View Classic Valve (http://store.airgun.com/acb/showdetl.cfm?&DID=17&Product_ID=153&CATID=6)