PDA

View Full Version : college advise thread

bentothejam1n
02-16-2009, 09:06 PM
I'm not a frequent poster anymore but I don't know where else to turn. I'm off the good ole colage next year. Probably going to Arkansas. I'm about to apply for dorms and i want to know any suggestions as far as floor and room location. Also I have been googling good college laptops but i want to get some other opinions. I plan to be an engineering major if that matters. Also any general advice (sexual or not) for college is appreciated.

Lomarandil
02-16-2009, 09:15 PM
I lived in a basement dorm, which was nice.. cinder block walls which were better insulating, and you didn't have to walk up a ton of stairs three times a day. That will vary campus to campus though.

As far as a computer goes, I've found that there is really very little need for a high-performance computer. I'm an engineering student, and anything that requires any substantial performance is done in a dedicated lab. I really only use my computer for word processing and internet.

Manage your time well, be organized, and go to classes.. Even if the classes are dull, you'll pick up most of the material just by attending regularly, which cuts down on study time.

Lo

michbich
02-16-2009, 09:37 PM
I can't help you on pretty much anything. But i'm in 3rd year of biochemistry. I bought a laptop thinking i would bring it to school...In 3 years, i brought it about 5 times. The computer that have the programs that you need will be provided at school.

I don't know about engineering, but the biochem program is actualy slow paced. I had to get a job this semester because i ended up wasting a lot of time. The more the semesters pass, the more i don't go to school. The least i attend school, the better i do :confused: . This week are midterms, so i will only go the exams, no classes, nothing else! I will still do above average. But i do study at home instead though.