PDA

View Full Version : Bolt stick or something like that.

Vomitsquad
03-17-2009, 05:49 AM
I just put my X-valve to better use and therefore put this old Micromag AIR valve /w lvl7 on my ULE but i doesnt work very well. It's leak free but when pulling the trigger the bolt often sticks so you can see the front 2-3mm of it in the breech, hissing air down the barrel. If i pull the trigger a few times it usually goes back, but something is really badly set up here.

So what should i try first? Heavier spring?
Is there anything that needs to be adjusted triggerwise? (Benchy single trigger)

chafnerjr
03-17-2009, 08:35 AM
I might get flamed for this one... I'm not a mag expert by any means, but check the bolt and sear to see if they are rough. I had an much less serious bolt stick issue that was solved by simply polishing the sear and bolt a little bit by hand. Seemed to fix me right up. However, I wasn't able to see any of the bolt in the breech. Seems like a much more significant issue then I was having.

Have you tuned everything else? Have you checked your FPS? I've seen people have these sorts of issues with their gun shooting at like 140fps... once they get up to the 220+ (really should be 280) everything is OK again.

MANN
03-17-2009, 12:46 PM
check your detents first with bolt stick. lvl 7 bolts are wider than lvl 10

XM15
03-17-2009, 06:05 PM
Does it have a power tube spacer? or does it have the old power tube spring? When the springs wear out they cause bolt stick.

03-17-2009, 07:04 PM
check the frame and fieldstrip screws tightness
try loosening them up a little, and if that doesnt help or makes it worse, try going slightly tighter (not too tight nobody likes broken bolts or stripped holes)

secretweaponevan
03-17-2009, 10:00 PM
From http://store.airgundesignsusa.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=catalog.prodInfo&productID=413&categoryID=18