PDA

View Full Version : New to mags, I have ?s

CockerCraze
04-27-2009, 10:25 PM
I am looking into getting my first mag. i have been shooting nothing but cockers for 3 years and i need something else to try out. i have read up on somethings but still have questions for everyone that has experience.

1. what is a good starter mag that i can slide a lvl 10 bolt in?
2. what are the main differences in a minimag and classic mag? which is a better performer?
3. how can i tell the difference between a RT and RT pro? <---- pics please
4. how much "tuning" is involved and is it difficult for a mag newb, im real good at cockers so im not mechanically challenged, just dont have the lingo down....yet.
5. if you use a mag-to-cocker threaded barrel adapter do the different bores still work right?

ill have more questions as i narrow down my search for a mag. thanks in advance :cheers:

eXo_oUtSiDeR
04-27-2009, 10:46 PM
1) All mags can accept the level 10 bolt, so i guess any mag you want? It really depends on your price range.
2) The minimag has a different, longer body; they perform exactly the same
3) The body/valve

RT classics have a full length body that covers most of the valve

http://i11.tinypic.com/6shocra.jpg

The rt pro does not have a full length body

http://media.photobucket.com/image/rt%20%20pro%20automag/jeff58353/Automag/IMG_0602.jpg

*note- all automag parts are compatible with one another except rt classic parts, the body rail and valve of an rt classic are not compatible, the frame is though and you can put a lvl 10 on it if you want as well. You can not change the rail valve or body on an rt classic!

4) No tuning of mags is required unless you have a lvl 10 or ult. In that case you can watch some videos on youtube on how exactly to tune it. Once you have it tuned well, you should only need to re-tune it once every year or so if even that.

5) im not sure on this one, but if you want I have a mag to cocker adapter i could sell you, send me a pm.