PDA

View Full Version : Old Classic mag and valve advice please

Old Baller
06-14-2009, 03:55 PM
Ok this is my first post on here and I hope you all may be able to offer some good advice. I will first flat out say I am not an expert on automags and I have kinda been out of the scene for a half dozen years so the little I knew has become less

My problem -My valve is shot(classic). I think it needs a rebuild atleast but I also think the power tube threading may be shot as the tip will not thread properly. I dunno if this is omething that can be fixed.

I have an old 68 automag with classic valve nice splash ano on the entire gun, front grip, drop down, and regulator. The regulator however is a reverse thread as is my tank. So if I swap out the classic valve for an x valve I am not supposed to use a regulator right? If this is the case I not only have to get rid of the regulator I will also have to get a new tank right? As once the reg is removed I will not be able to get a bottom bottle holder in a reverse thread right?

SO my questions

Can I run a regulator on an x valve?

if not

Can I get a reverse thread bottom bottle holder?

and/or

If I sent the classic valve to AGD would they be able to fix it and would it be worth it?

If anyone has any suggestions or questions, or answers ect

Barsse
06-14-2009, 04:13 PM
Hope I can answer some questions right:

You CAN run a regulator on X-valve, but it will not do really much good, perhaps only starve the valve and weaken your performance if anything.

BUT, if you want to use a regulator becuase you're running CO2 - FORGET it. X-valve is HPA only. While some claim you can do it if you can keep the liquid 100% out, it's not worth risking it, just invest in HPA, you'll be better off anyway.

And I don't think AGD services classic valves anymore. The community here will help you though, free of charge, if you tell us what the problem is. It will most likely be that you need to replace an o-ring, that's it. :)

Old Baller