PDA

View Full Version : Seal- Forward?

Newt
06-17-2009, 12:36 PM
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to the mag and still trying to get my head all the way around the design. I've been nothing but impressed so far.

How does the AGD bolt style ensure gas goes into the barrel, though? Every other bolt system I've seen from the Tippmann style to the SP design to the new Bob Long valve to Autocockers have a method of sealing the bolt with the barrel at the time the valve is opened. Bolt-barrel seal = efficiency.

How's that work on the mag? There's no oring on the bolt's outside diameter, and if there was it'd get chewed to shreads by the spring.

vf-xx
06-17-2009, 12:48 PM
to the best of my knowlege it doesn't seal.

Then again. Mags are not known for air efficency either. Love em anyway. :)

cockerpunk
06-17-2009, 12:57 PM
well if you look at a level 1o bolt you'll notice a wee bit back from the bolt face, here is a little hump. this is a swell in the bolt that insures the bolt and barrel seal up reasonably well. its about a 3-4 thou sealing ridge.

vf-xx
06-17-2009, 01:17 PM
well if you look at a level 1o bolt you'll notice a wee bit back from the bolt face, here is a little hump. this is a swell in the bolt that insures the bolt and barrel seal up reasonably well. its about a 3-4 thou sealing ridge.

I thought that was part of the tapering due to the anti chop functions. I need to go look at it again.

Newt
06-17-2009, 01:25 PM

Okay, I see the hump now. It doesn't work very well, I can blow through my barrel with the bolt "sealed" in it, and feel air flowing around it (moreso even than the porting).

Perhaps I'll put an old barrel on the lathe and machine an oring gland into it.

cockerpunk
06-17-2009, 02:02 PM