PDA

View Full Version : Classic mag leak. Please Help.

Timber_Ghost
08-02-2009, 03:24 PM
So I just got a 68 classic in the mail I got through a trade. Excited to use it, I hook up the co2 tank and air pours down the barrel violently. I took it apart and gave it a good oiling and tried again with no luck. If I hold the trigger down the leak stops. I've replace all the orings in the on/off and checked the orings in the power tube, but they look fine. I don't have a parts/ seal kit yet so i'll be ordering one as soon as I get paid next week. Another thing I have noticed is that when I let go of the trigger the bolt comes forward about 1/8".
If I push back on the bolt when it is leaking with my finger, the leak also stops. Ive got a level 7 bolt if that helps. I don't know if maybe I need a stronger bolt spring or what. I've just kind of hit a wall in my trouble shooting. I'm new to classics, so I don't really know what else to look for. I have never encountered a problem like this in my other mags. Thanks in advance for your help.

dark blade
08-02-2009, 03:33 PM
sear/bolt/spring combo

it sounds like the bolt spring might have been cut to relieve tension when used with a wave spring on a pumpmag. That very small difference in length can make for a huge problem on a non pumped mag.

Get a longer spring and i bet you will be fine :)

secretweaponevan
08-02-2009, 03:34 PM
So I just got a 68 classic in the mail I got through a trade. Excited to use it, I hook up the co2 tank and air pours down the barrel violently. I took it apart and gave it a good oiling and tried again with no luck. If I hold the trigger down the leak stops. I've replace all the orings in the on/off and checked the orings in the power tube, but they look fine. I don't have a parts/ seal kit yet so i'll be ordering one as soon as I get paid next week. Another thing I have noticed is that when I let go of the trigger the bolt comes forward about 1/8".