PDA

View Full Version : How times change in paintball (2005-2009)

MAGslinger
09-22-2009, 11:28 AM
I've been playing paintball since 2005, and since then, I've seen many things change at my field. I remember seeing Prostock '04s on the wall of my local shop, and a time when mech was the standard for every field, the days before the electro-gun hit the masses like a bug. Then the Ion came, bringing a tourney gun to the masses, for an affordable price. Gone were the days of those precision machined prostocks, with their gloss-black finish, in came the mattel-gun of paintball. Fast-Forward to 2009. I was playing at my local fields all day scenario. I was the ONLY one rocking a pump mag, and the ONLY one getting bonus-balled, being lit up with yellow, pink and orange paintballs. My mask was so badly shot up, that I could not see in front of me, even after wiping the paint off, in a desperate attempt to call myself out, and exit the speedball field (I was in so much pain I could barely lift my arm). This experience got me thinking back to the days when the Colt 1911 replaced the old Colt Single-Action Army. I think players like me are slowly fading away here in the midwest, simply because we're sick of these younger guys shooting the crap out of us.