PDA

View Full Version : Help with upgrades to a basically stock mag

Bigwooly1013
10-29-2009, 11:00 AM
Hello all. I'm new to these paintball forums..

I have an Automag 68 Classic that is basically Stock with the exception of barrels(2 different length smart parts a 12"(not sure what it's made of but it's really light) and a 14" stainless), i have the original trigger frame, a zgrip, and a chrome frame(32 degrees single trigger) with clear dye grips on it.

The tank i had was way out of hydro and i wanted to play so i bought a new alluminium HPA tank from my local field and went to play.

I'm looking for suggestions on what i could do on for about $150 or whatever i can get for my Z-grip (Didn't like the grip on the gun) to improve the air efficiency, cut down on chopped balls, and improve my setup over all.

Thanks for any suggestions you can offer.

xero28
10-29-2009, 11:14 AM
Depending on the condition of the Z-grip, you could probably get around $125-150. But, it's not really a seller's market right now, though someone may need one. As far as efficiency goes, unfortunately there's not much you can do for a Mag to help that. Just make sure you get the "all day air" pass at the field. :D

The first upgrade I would make is get a Level 10 bolt. http://automags.org/resource/level10/index.shtml You can pick them up used here around the forums, but you can get them new from AGD for around $80. Tuned correctly, this will 100% eliminate chops.

If you want to lighten the setup, you can go with a ULE (ultra light engineering) body. It's all aluminum, rather than stainless like your current body. Though the ULE bodies take cocker threaded barrels, so you'd have to pick up one of those. Honestly though, unless you absolutely have to have a vert feed or can't lug around a few more ounces, stick with your current body.