PDA

View Full Version : no use for this old timer...i guess

bound for glory
11-01-2009, 03:26 PM
let me say first, that i'm more likly just a bitter old man of almost 42, who, after being a player scince 1985, i've been semi retired from our great game. yeah, i like the idea that i'll get another emag(or tom will come back and make me something new, in which case i'll HAVE TO come back), and play with my boy when he is old enough to play on a field. but, whatever, people get old :(
i'm a teacher. i teach history at a tech high school(which means the kids are there to learn a trade, not about history, which most kids, sadly, could care less about), and i work a part time job(most recently at m&m...if you eat the plain ones, i probly have had my hands run through them ;) but i've recently bought a house in a nice little town in pa. and bad enough i have to drive every day to my beloved and missed new jersey to teach, i just could'nt keep up also driving there to make sure, by shifting through buckets and many buckets of m&ms, that most are not chipped or broken. so i quit the m&m gig. :clap: and i saw an ad in the local paper asking for "refs" at good old skirmish, usa in the lovly town of jim thorpe, pa. :rolleyes: hey, i think, i'm in, baby! well, not really...
still with me? hope so. anyway, i apply, get told i was in, that i would be contacted by phone or email for my training weekend, then get an email saying they had enough "refs" for the year. ok, its getting late in the year. 3 weeks later i get a call from the "head "ref" himself asking me if i was still interested. yes, i say. the jakass then proceeds to butter me up like a piece of corn, and tell me some of the "kids" he hired have found that being a paintball ref does indeed include some work, quit on him. "you(he sez to me) would, with your experince and know whats would be a fine addition to skirmish" :headbang: (i am not kidding you, he said this to me...really).