PDA

View Full Version : Cycling again

punkncat
01-11-2010, 09:51 PM
I just picked up a new toy. First new bike since around the mid 90's.

http://216.77.188.54/coDataImages/p/Groups/259/259802/pages/1114808/Trek005[800x600].JPG

Trek 1.5 Double.

I started riding again, a hobby that I enjoyed very much as a kid and young adult, about six months or so ago. My old bike....

http://216.77.188.54/coDataImages/p/Groups/259/259802/pages/1114808/GT001[800x600].JPG

GT Timberline

...that I converted to a hybrid and have ridden recreationally and commuted on for a while at one point. After pulling her back off the hook and riding it around again a lot of maintainance issues popped up, and was left with the choice to either fix it, or get a new bike. Since all of the freshening would have cost me around $250, I just chose to spring for a new one. Found this on Craigslist, had 130 miles on it, and payed half of what it is selling in store for right now, same bike. Very happy....except with the cost of new apparel.

Nice to be back on two wheels again, even if I am the motor.

Smoothice
01-11-2010, 09:55 PM
I would say the fact that you are the motor is the cool part.

:cheers:

CaliMagFan
01-11-2010, 10:59 PM
Wow.. Looks good. I need to get myself a new roadbike for training. I'm jealous, what's the component groupo? Trek certainly makes nice frames.

punkncat
01-12-2010, 06:34 PM
Its got a Sora groupy with the Tiagra rear derailler upgrade. It is a fairly poor group, but at the price point of this bike, pretty standard, and should be servicable for a year or so. After that, I am going to upgrade to the 105 or Dura set. In particular, I want to move to the 105 shifter/brake combo just due to ergonomics. The "downshift" paddle on the Sora group is in an odd location that requires you to have hands on the brake hoods to reach. Can't get to them at all from the drops.