PDA

View Full Version : Pistol Thread

SCpoloRicker
02-04-2010, 03:47 PM
Alrighty. I am considering picking up a pistol for range use and home defense.

I'm currently leaning towards an HK USP Compact in 9mm with a stainless slide.

http://www.gun-review.com/images/uploaded/450_hk_uspcompactsts.jpg

I have put several hundred rounds through a full size USP, and I like the control setup.

I am curious to hear others opinions on pistols. Other models I have thought about are Sig and Glock, which I have some experience with, but not nearly as much as with HK.

So let's hear some thoughts.

Lohman446
02-04-2010, 04:08 PM
I lean towards carriable pistols - and to me the HK is too blocky. I tried a Sig P239 and found the accuracy was poor compared to the P229 - which I carried for a few months and found too wide.

I carried a Glock G26 for some time. Simplicity of use it works, but I don't really love the gun. I have tried a few Smith and Wesson snub revolvers and liked them well enough.. Currently on my belt I am carrying a SP101 with 3+" barrel - it fits well and is actually very concealble in a good holster.

I had my "affair" with Kimber 1911s, but the 1911 at best is a bit complex to operate under stress, and I finally quit carrying it one day when the safety was "rubbed" off in my holster.

For range use the HK is probably a splendid gun. I would lean towards 9MM. The 9MM does not lack in stopping power, but the recoil compared to a 40 will be appreciated. Truth be told all reasonable handguns (the 460 S+W, 500 S+W, 454 are likely exceptions) are all VERY anemic in stopping power (9MM, 40, 45, 380, 38, 357, 32). Those who tell you how great of stoppers some are from others have not looked closely at the comparisons when based on a scale that shows realistic stopping power.