PDA

View Full Version : Retro valve sticking in body due to on-off pin?

Jacobd
02-20-2010, 09:58 PM
I've got a Retro valve that after airing up you can't slide out of the body because the on-off pin is stuck too far down, after pulling the trigger of course.
I'm using a stock carbon fiber frame and a direct feed SS body, I tried a classic valve in the same setup and it had no problems so it must be the valve, the marker works fine and trigger rod adjustment looks right to me (not that I'm an expert though)
Any help is appreciated.

Ando
02-20-2010, 10:19 PM
Hmm...Pulling the trigger should reset the on/off pin enough for you to pull the valve out. Try holding the trigger down when degassing the marker, that sometimes helps.

You can use just about anything (pin or allen key) to push the sear rod further in the frame and that will def reset the pin as well. How big of a gap do you have between the trigger and sear rod? Should have a a gap about the thickness of a credit card.

Spider-TW
02-20-2010, 11:02 PM
If the trigger rod is set right and it still sticks you can do what I've done for my pneu-mag bodies.

Take a round needle file to the back inside edge of the hole in the body for the on/off pin. Cut small ramp that doesn't go all the way down. It doesn't show on the outside, but it will usually let you work a droopy pin out.

Pullman
02-21-2010, 11:10 AM
Alternately you can just pull the frame off. It's not as nifty slick as undoing the the field strip bolt and having everything drop out the back, but it's only one more bolt. You may have an RTP length on/off in there which may poke out to far if you are using an AM/MM rail.

flyingpootang
02-21-2010, 11:28 AM
Lengthen your trigger rod slightly. As long as you have a credit card thickness behind the trigger when aired up...

Jacobd
02-21-2010, 03:18 PM