PDA

View Full Version : The Age of the Mechanical Marker

Aslan
03-14-2010, 05:02 PM
Just wondering about this a bit today...

When I started playing way back when, electronic markers weren't available. As they started coming available, they were slow to make their way to the woodsball fields.

But, as E-triggers for A-5s started showing up...and the electronic markers started getting more rugged and sophisticated...I saw more and more starting to filter in.

I've been away from the game since the summer of 2007, so I'm a bit anxious to see what everyone is using nowadays. I've used a classic Level X automag and held my own okay...but I've wondered how long that will continue to hold true.

I've upgraded to a Level X Minimag with ULE trigger retro valve...but am I just delaying the inevitable?

I have a PM5 that I'm trying to get running...I figure if I'm outgunned it'll eventually be my primary marker. Got an autococker I was thinking of throwing an E-blade on but I can't get that thing running worth a darn. :mad:

I know, I know...it's the player not the equipment right? :nono: But do you think there might be a time when mechanical markers are no longer relevant?

ManInBlack
03-14-2010, 05:11 PM
It only takes 1 ball to take out an opponent, and any paintball gun can do that, electric or not.

gunman_2000
03-14-2010, 05:12 PM
nah, as long as guys want to tinker with guns there will always be some fancy hot shot mech that can easily keep up with the e-guns. Look at all the pneumags out there these days. And I've never seen an RT actually rip in person before, but everything I hear about them makes me think they will hold off any electro :)

kcombs9
03-14-2010, 05:32 PM
more and more fields are setting the rate of fire cap of 10-13 BPS and if they aren't I would recommend you suggest that to your field owner ;) ( I know I have )

with a ULT valve you can reach peek rate of fire in that range. Not easily or for very long but It will make you competitive :shooting: