PDA

View Full Version : Paintball birthday party??? 9-year old

shives007
09-16-2010, 12:38 PM
I've been playing for 20 years, so I'm not new to this.

My son has played once, a year ago. He did alright, but there were a few tears after the first couple of hits. He has been talking all year about having a paintball birthday party for his 9th. Now, all of his friends are old enough for the local field. This is not going to be a cheap party. My wife is grumbling a little, but really wants to do something so as not to disappoint him. Just looking for thoughts/suggestions/opinions.

Thanks,
Shives

factoid
09-16-2010, 12:47 PM
I've been playing for 20 years, so I'm not new to this.

My son has played once, a year ago. He did alright, but there were a few tears after the first couple of hits. He has been talking all year about having a paintball birthday party for his 9th. Now, all of his friends are old enough for the local field. This is not going to be a cheap party. My wife is grumbling a little, but really wants to do something so as not to disappoint him. Just looking for thoughts/suggestions/opinions.

Thanks,
Shives

This might draw sneers and derision...but it's worth at least checking into whether anyone rents .50 caliber equipment in your area.

They hurt a lot less and I think are better suited for kids than 68 caliber. They don't have the same range, which is good since most kids aren't going to be crack distance shooters, so it will force them to get in closer where they'll spend more time shooting and playing and having fun than bunkering and camping like I usually see the young kids doing.

And I doubt the fields or the other kids parents would let you do this, but I think it would be valuable for kids to learn how it feels to get shot by a paintball before they're allowed to shoot someone else. I've seen a kid go out their first time and just light up another kid not knowing how painful that is.