PDA

View Full Version : AGD & MacDev owners, I need input!

AGDRetro
01-11-2011, 11:50 PM
I've been shooting Mags almost exclusively for the past 5-6 years, and have been considering adding a MacDev Droid to the line-up. I was just wondering how other Mag owners whom also sport a MD gun from time to time would compare the two. I'm not interested in "kiddy" factors like ROF. I'm concerned with things like quality & ease of maintenance, availability of parts, etc.

This is not a VS. thread, I'm just looking for some insight from owners of both breeds!

Frizzle Fry
01-12-2011, 12:43 AM
Droids are cool, but I talked to an owner recently who wants to upgrade to a Clone, which is very similar with a couple key tweaks including tooless disassembly and better efficiency (he was concerned with the future availability of parts too - the Droid was short lived and the Clone is going strong). I've fired both and they're very cool, but I only shot the Clone once... I was impressed with both, and would certainly pick either up over a DYE NT or Eclipse GEO both for the price point and the feel of the marker.

SSP-SheiK
01-12-2011, 04:15 AM
if your looking at macdev and dont care between poppet or spool valves, i recommend checking out the macdev cyborg. (04, 05, 06, 07, RX) Alot of mag owners also own cyborgs (including myself) and swear by them (also including myself).

going_home
01-12-2011, 06:48 AM
You want ease of maintenance ?

Cyborg RX or a Drone.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9VZ2prDKU8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcqoBdshuLQ

And yes I have both.

I like the RX best.

:D

zondo
01-12-2011, 08:53 AM
I've got an RX as well.

The bolt is self contained and it cleans the eyes each time it's fired. The valve train is virtually contained in 2 pieces with the poppet on the end. It doesn't require lube all that often, and no oil in the ASA.

After play (most times), just remove the bolt and run a swab through the top tube. Wipe down the outside of the gun, and store.