PDA

View Full Version : Adjustable tank regulator opinions wanted

Darkspidie1984
02-05-2011, 03:19 PM
Adjustable tank regulator opinions wanted as I have the opportunity to buy an Air america Raptor reg, or Air america Armageddon reg, or a Smart Parts Max-flo. Im looking for an opinion on any whom may have experience with these regs.

Are any of these regs listed above very consistent as Im looking for a constant output of 900-950psi for my Rt Pro? I dont want a new ninja adjustable tank as id like to save cash and just buy one of these and have it installed. Id like to get more reactivity out of my Rt Pro as the 850psi output crossfire i have is nice but its still not shooting as fast as my buddies Rt classic with my tank.

sjrtk
02-05-2011, 04:55 PM
I have an AA Raptor and a Max-Flo. I have no experience withe the Armageddons. The Max is much easier to deal with than the Raptor, it has an on/off, output pressure gauge, and dove tail mount. The Raptor need a cradle, has no out put gauge, and has no on/off unless you add one. Both are plenty consistent for use like you want. really though you'd be best calling ninja and having them send you a reg at 950. I know you don't want to do it but just to say it.

VailSkibum
02-11-2011, 12:06 PM
I use an AA Raptor 4500. It's about to outlast the tank that I got it with.
Pro:
Almost identical to the Classic Automag Reg. O-rings are interchangeable on the 3000 psi and except for the reg seat, also interchangeable on the 4500 verson. (Raptor Rex).
Durable, Durable, Durable. Adjustable. Good Recharge rate. RTs no problem. Inexpensive.
Con:
Needs a cradle. KAPP's is easy to find but ugly (imho). No on/off. I use a pro-connect and almost like it better. I built a little contraption out of an old remote top and guage to test output pressure.
THE BIGGIE... This reg will chop piston o-rings evey time you crank up the reg. UNLESS you fire a few shots to relieve some of the pressure every 1/2 a turn or so.
Bottom Line: