PDA

View Full Version : RT history

brycelarson
04-21-2011, 06:06 AM
hi guys,

I'm not much of a mag guy - I'm looking for a bit of info on this gun. I picked up a chrome RT locally for a pretty low price. It came with an Air America reg - the tank appears to be a 3 year hydro - born on date of '97. The serial on the valve is 1594. Does that serial jive with the tank born on date? Would this all have come as a package? Does '97 sound right for that serial #?

here's a quick vid. It's a basic, shiny RT mag - Lv7 bolt. It appears to be all stock to me, but I'm no mag expert.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=huifjUk_syc

ManInBlack
04-21-2011, 07:41 AM
The gun looks to be original, but I don't think the barrel is and I'm not sure about the tank either. Nice find though.

mpsd
04-21-2011, 09:58 AM
The Mag is original but it's missing the sight rail and the barrel you have there is a Dye one, instead of the Crown Point it originally came with.

Although heavy, this is a very nice Mag to play with. You'll certailnly enjoy it on the field.

kcombs9
04-21-2011, 10:21 AM
don't think the born date of the tank and the # on the valve have anything in common...

Frizzle Fry
04-21-2011, 11:45 AM
don't think the born date of the tank and the # on the valve have anything in common...

I think he's trying to ascertain the age of the marker using the serial and age of the tank for reference.

It's been in a closet for a long time, and the reg is about that vintage. I have two classic RTs - 3370 and 1275, and the latter was purchased in late '96. Based on the guys story, the tank, and the serial #s, I'd guess you're looking at a '96 or '97... Now its time to slap a Flatline on there and take it out on the field, I've got a few barrels I'd donate to the cause.

brycelarson
04-21-2011, 12:54 PM
I think he's trying to ascertain the age of the marker using the serial and age of the tank for reference.