PDA

View Full Version : mags & kick

stevewar
08-19-2011, 03:42 PM
has anybody thought about how to reduce kick. I'm not a mechanical engineer, but I would imagine the weight of the bolt is a good place to start?

athomas
08-19-2011, 04:09 PM
Or make the gun heavier.

Any force that is applied to the bolt and/or ball is equally applied in the opposite direction. The ball will not change mass, so the force to get the ball up to speed will always be the same, so the kick as a result of that force will also be the same.

By making the bolt lighter, it requires less force to move it forward and you can use a lighter bolt spring to lower the operating pressure in the chamber. Less force pushing the bolt forward, means less force pushing the gun backwards, so the result is less kick.

bpsimpson22
08-19-2011, 04:15 PM
Or make the gun heavier.

Any force that is applied to the bolt and/or ball is equally applied in the opposite direction. The ball will not change mass, so the force to get the ball up to speed will always be the same, so the kick as a result of that force will also be the same.

By making the bolt lighter, it requires less force to move it forward and you can use a lighter bolt spring to lower the operating pressure in the chamber. Less force pushing the bolt forward, means less force pushing the gun backwards, so the result is less kick.

Precisely! Newton's Second Law, F=ma (Force = mass x acceleration).

stevewar
08-19-2011, 05:12 PM
I fired a luxe today, and couldn't believe how smooth it was. Now I know it's not a mechanical marker, but it was impressive none the less

sjrtk
08-19-2011, 10:22 PM
I never found a "kick" issue with a mag. So i really can't justify worrying about the recoil of the bolt movement. Even when I have the 13 tank and 50 rounder on the marker.

stevewar
08-20-2011, 12:02 AM