PDA

View Full Version : Is it just me?

dre1919
11-18-2011, 10:14 AM
I started playing paintball in 1993 and spent many years playing and loving woods ball and scenario. Then, as the sport grew and tournaments and speed ball type play rose in prominence, I moved toward that as a natural progression. I always thought it was crappy that woods ball...the camouflage, uneven terrain and field aspects, as well as the low firing rates and milsim gear...were all suddenly looked down upon by the more "we're a sport now" tourney crowd. (Even though I was a part of that crowd in play, I never adopted that attitude). You could go into "Pro-shops" and they would be amused if you wanted anything by Tippmann or anything firing less than 1,000 balls per second, etc.

Anyway, because things in life are cyclical...and because there are better milsim products than ever before...and because the economy sucks (as well many other reasons I'm sure), woods ball...and all that goes with it...is back and mainstream popular again in the paintball crowd. Hell, it's fair to say it's THE thing now. I find this refreshing (as it never should have left or been replaced by the "soccer with guns" speed ball game anyway, IMHO), but I also find it a little funny and even somewhat insulting. Almost like it was a game style for us hardcore paintball guys, then the corporate types came in and said "Let's make paintball a "sport" so it sells more paint and makes more money" and changed the game. Then, when things went to hell, our "real" game came back and is now fashionable again.

Does that make anyone else want to figuratively (or literally) kick a "Pro Shop, Speed Ball, Corporate Type" in the face? LOL. :dance:

mpsd
11-18-2011, 01:17 PM