PDA

View Full Version : Questions for those experience in CNC machining

redlaser666
01-30-2012, 04:43 AM
I am a hobby machinist. I learned a few years ago how to do manual lathe and milling machine operations and have come to understand my machines well.

My questions relate to converting this machines to CNC capabilities. I have already researched everything I would need to do to turn a manual mill to CNC.
The question is how do I create parts after the conversion?
I have read that MACH3 is a good controll software, but it just proceses G code ???
How do you guys draw your designs and then convert them to said G code??
What do you draw in?? Autocad?? What do you do after?????

Thanks for any help!

renie
01-30-2012, 12:57 PM
where to start?
there are lots of different cnc operating systems, most of them use G-code but that does vary from machine to machine.
Fanuc operating system i would say is the most popular and easiest to learn

software wise you have a large choice Solidworks and Inventor seem to be the most popular choice for 3D work.

as for CadCam there are lots solidworks has a plugin which is quite good, theres edgecam mastercam etc etc
I use Onecnc which is a cracking program, but it all depends what u want i would hit the cnc forums :)

redlaser666
01-31-2012, 11:18 PM
where to start?
there are lots of different cnc operating systems, most of them use G-code but that does vary from machine to machine.
Fanuc operating system i would say is the most popular and easiest to learn

software wise you have a large choice Solidworks and Inventor seem to be the most popular choice for 3D work.

as for CadCam there are lots solidworks has a plugin which is quite good, theres edgecam mastercam etc etc
I use Onecnc which is a cracking program, but it all depends what u want i would hit the cnc forums :)

Ok so if im getting this right this is the stuff i would need:
- Solidworks to draw the part
- Solidworks plug in to convert the drawing to code