PDA

View Full Version : Common problems with the RT valve

56kSomeGuy
03-15-2002, 01:36 PM
I'm kinda new to the Rt valve. Been having some problems with the valve but can't tell where the problem is comming from. So I just want to know the common problems with the Rt valve and how to fix them. The more info the better.

BlackVCG
03-15-2002, 01:56 PM
The more info, the better I can help you. Describe in detail the problems you're having and your gun setup.

56kSomeGuy
03-15-2002, 03:12 PM
The gun keeps on sputtering when gassing up and keeps on leeking air down the barrel. I switched the o rings and tried all the powertube spacers but its not fixing the problem.

LaW
03-15-2002, 03:29 PM
Did you get it used? Has the sear and bolt been through a lot? Do they look worn at all? Have you tried replacing your bolt spring?

56kSomeGuy
03-15-2002, 07:00 PM
Yes i got it used and it hasen't worked since i got it. I replaced all the o-rings and the bolt spring but it didn't help. The bolt and sear are in good shape but it still leaks and sputters. Is there a difference between regular automag powertub o-rings to Rt power tube o-rings? It might be the o-ring since i mixed up my RT o-rings with my automag kit.

LaW
03-15-2002, 07:06 PM
the powertubes are the same... i've used a ptube oring from my regular mag kit with my retro and it worked... maybe it's the on/off pin? does it look polished or sanded down in anyway? hmmm

56kSomeGuy
03-15-2002, 07:26 PM
Nop no scraches on the on/off pin it looks smooth.

the123
03-15-2002, 07:27 PM
1 thing you must keep in mind when gassing up your RT is that you must give the valve a quick burst of air for all the seals to seat properly. one way is with a compressed air bottle with an on-off . you need to gas it up quickly is the key.

LaW
03-15-2002, 07:59 PM
If you can't give it that quick burst of air stick a squeegee down the barrel and push the bolt while you gas up until everything seals.

LiLcCBOi26
03-17-2002, 03:20 AM